#636 Faith – Buried, He Carried My Sins Far Away

Guest devotional by Roger O’Dell, Executive Director of Model Cities – El Paso and active in ministry at Immanuel Baptist Church, El Paso, Texas.

Good Day Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

They lowered His dead body from that rugged cross and carried it to a borrowed tomb.  Our Savior knew this day would come.  He also knew that by his death, our sins’ debt would be paid – in full.  Nothing ever again would have to be done to purchase my/our forever.  Our Believer’s Baptism symbolizes the death of that old way of life.  Our new lives should be full of grace and good works because that sin nature has been removed.  Yes, we are going to fall into sin from time to time but He carried those sins far away.  I know, for me, it hurts when I think of how my new sins must hurt my Lord.  Forgive me, Father.

Romans 6:1-23 – ESV:

Dead to Sin, Alive to God:

“What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? [2] By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it?…[10] For the death he died he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God. [11] So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.”