#634 Praise – Living, He Loved Me…

Guest devotional by Roger O’Dell, Executive Director of Model Cities –El Paso and active in ministry at Immanuel Baptist Church, El Paso, Texas.

Good Day Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

A few weeks back I was asked me if I would write five of devotionals to be circulated while the regular author is on vacation.  I said, “sure, no problem!”  Maybe no problem for him, but as I searched for devotional material I soon prayed and asked God for His direction.  God allowed me to struggle with the task and when I called out in my desperation (in my shower, no less) this morning, He gave me my direction.  Maybe some of you are like me, we sing in the shower.  Especially if we believe there is no human listening.  This morning I knew God would forgive my singing voice and I hoped he would accept my words of praise.  At the top of my lungs I was singing  the old song by Chapman and Marsh – “Living, he loved me, Dying, He saved me, Buried, he carried my sins far away, Rising, He justified freely forever, One day He’s coming, Oh Glorious day!  That’s it I said!  Those are the five topics I will write on.  And at that the ideas flowed like a river.  In Jesus’ short three year public life He poured out His heart and wisdom for us to have a model to try to follow.  Wow, He loved even me.   More tomorrow!  Blessings.

Philippians 2:1-11 – ESV:

 “… but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”